University Research Council (URC)

As an advisory body to the Vice President for Research, the University Research Council (URC) is charged to recommend initiatives and mechanisms to develop, promote and administer a dynamic and innovative research environment at MUSC with the goal of nurturing discovery and knowledge application for the benefit of society.

The committee was restructured by the Associate Provost for Research to focus on strategic issues of broader impact. Its membership is defined as the Associate Deans of Research from the Colleges, the Director of the Hollings Cancer Center, the Chief Research Informatics Officer, the Director of the South Carolina Clinical and Translational Research Institute, the Assistant Provost for Research Infrastructure, the Assistant Provost for Research Compliance and Regulatory Affairs, and two at-large members. Non-voting ad hoc members include the Director of the Office of Research Development and the Chair of the Research Communications Committee.

Specific tasks for the URC include:

  1. Monitor the overall research environment of the University, including conducting needs assessments for research administration, new technologies, cores and/or centers;
  2. Promote awareness of research initiatives and resources;Provide a forum for discussion of new research initiatives, including proposals for major new instrumentation, new cores or centers;
  3. Recommend new initiatives to achieve strategic research goals;


Committee Members

Committee Members

Lori L. McMahon, Ph.D. (Committee Chair)
Vice President for Research

Steven L. Carroll, M.D., Ph.D, FASCP, FCAP
Professor and Chair, Department of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Gordon R. Hennigar, Jr., M.D. Endowed Chair in Pathology
Director, HCC Biorepository & Tissue Analysis Shared Resources

Patrick A. Flume, M.D. (Chair, Clinical and Translational Research Action Committee)
Assistant Provost for Research Compliance & Regulatory Affairs Professor, Department of Medicine, College of Medicine

Denis Guttridge, Ph.D.
Associated Director of Translational Sciences, Hollings Cancer Center

Teresa Kelechi RN, Ph.D., FAAN
Associate Dean for Research, College of Nursing

James S. Krause, Ph.D.
Associate Dean for Research College of Health Professions

Leslie A. Lenert, M.D., M.S.
Biomedical Informatics Center Chair Chief Research Information Officer
Professor, College of Medicine

Amy B. Martin, DPH
Interim Chair, Department of Oral Health Sciences
Director, Division of Population Oral Health, Department of Stomatology
James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine

Barb Rohrer, Ph.D.
Endowed Chair, Professor of Ophthalmology

Paula Traktman, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Graduate Studies
Professor, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Patrick Woster Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences (Interim Chair) College of Pharmacy 

Non-voting members:

Carla W. Stipe, MBA
Director, Office of Research Development

Loretta Lynch-Reichert, M.S. (Chair, Research Communications Committee)
Director, Office of Strategic Initiatives and Policy Management